Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Garden planning, prep and landscape design in Ireland

plant suggestions and lawn treatment

Most Recent Posts funny
Last post: tagwex
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Ado 2
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
vbold
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 11:37 am    Post subject: plant suggestions and lawn treatment Reply with quote

Hi all,

Complete novice here

I'm trying to get seriously get stuck into the garden at the moment and I've a few issues that I need some advise on

I have a large block wall - not the prettiest - all along the east facing side of the garden, could any one suggest a few climbers or ornamental bushes/small trees which I could plant along it to cover it up - it's about 70ft long (6 foot high) so I need a few - (also I'd like to create a border in front of some of them if that matters!)

also whatever goes in will have to compete with the bind weed which i'm trying to kill but it's very difficult - the roundup doesn't seem to be up to the task - has any one used anything stronger? Where i do have plants i just keep pulling hte bind week up before it get a hold of the plant

The grass in the garden is just awful, in patches it's about 70% weeds, mostly dandelions, are those "weed suppressant and grass fertiliser" combination products any good? - I really don't want to lift the whole lawn as it's quite large and would cost a fortune.