Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

2 Apple trees, 1 Tiny Garden - am I crazy?

Most Recent Posts can anyone identify this
Last post: Sue Deacon
...What did you do Today...
Last post: Sue Deacon
Garlic problem
Last post: Greengage
funny
Last post: ponddigger

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
ljr
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 4:01 pm    Post subject: 2 Apple trees, 1 Tiny Garden - am I crazy? Reply with quote

Hi
Total novice here that loves apples. Am I mad to consider planting 2 apple trees in my very small front garden which is approx 15 feet by 12. I have no back garden so this is my only option. The garden already has a few things in it including a palm tree (now at about 10 feet) and a couple of rose bushes and a fuschia but there is 1.5 mtr sq of space at the railing near the pavement and a similar space near the house. I would aim to keep these trees fairly severely pruned to stop them taking over the garden and hopefully to grow tall rather than wide..

I read GPI's excellent "How to plant an apple tree.." http://www.gardenplansireland.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=392 and the front garden is south facing with good drainage etc.

So, if it is possible to plant two trees in this small space - how far from the garden railing / bay window / path do I need to plant them or will the roots just grow underneath the path?

Finally another thought I had was that I plant one apple tree plus a small crab apple tree for polination purposes. There is a crab apple tree about 20 metres away in a neighbours garden but I would presume this is too far away to act as a polinator.